American Boer Goat Association

Board of Directors

Regular Meeting

9/24/2024

Meeting scheduled at 7:00 PM CST

Call to Order at 7:00 PM CST

Roll Call

Board of Directors

Rosalinda Vizina – R1 Elizabeth Westfall – R9

Olivia Rush – R2 Kim Veal – R10

Paige Gunderson – R3 Tyler Sparks – R11

Jeffrey Gibbs – R4 Chuck Fitzwater – R12

Michael Reis – R5 Brad Mackey – R13

Lauren Green – R6 Cameron Drew – R14 (Absent)

Gage Taylor – R7 Kevin Richmond – Past President -

Casey McClain – R7 (Absent)

Sam Knott - R8

Present

Caleb Boardman, Will Griffis, Porschea Vann

Face to Face Meeting Location

Presentation by Gage Taylor on Dallas and Indianapolis locations is based on current information on the preferred airline of directors, hotel, and food costs. Discussion on the location of previous face-to-face meetings based on information provided by Rosalinda Vizina. Caleb Boardman provided insight into the abstention vote before any voting occurred. The example provided was if a 2/3 vote is required of the 15 board members, then 10 yes votes would be necessary for it to pass. A poll was taken on the recommendation for the Face-to-Face of the directors to decide the location.

- Dallas Jeff Gibbs, Gage Taylor, Kim Veal, Brad Mackey
- Indianapolis Rosalinda Vizina, Olivia Rush, Paige Gunderson, Lauren Green,
 Casey McClain, Sam Knott, Elizabeth Westfall, Tyler Sparks, Chuck Fitzwater

Indianapolis was chosen for the face-to face location on December 6th and 7th.

900 Discussion

Discussion on whether a 900 has to be discussed in Executive Session. Will Griffis stated that 6.10 of the bylaws states that when the president deems it appropriate in the interest of the association, the board may meet in a closed session, but it is not required.

Motion by Rosalinda Vizina to go into executive session. Seconded by Paige Gunderson.

Roll call vote requested by Tyler Sparks. Yes – Rosalinda Vizina No – Olivia Rush, Paige

Gunderson, Jeff Gibbs, Lauren Green, Gage Taylor, Casey McClain, Sam Knott, Elizabeth Westfall, Kim Veal, Tyler Sparks, Chuck Fitzwater, Brad Mackey

Conversation on the rules of 900 and what step it is currently in of the process. Caleb Boardman read the 900 rule and timeline of the complaint process. Discussion on Chuck Fitzwater being able to participate in the initial conversation on the 900 filing. The determination was that Mr. Fitzwater would be excused during the conversation and not allowed to participate in the debate. The secretary read the 900 complaints and rules cited for the complaint. Discussion by directors on the First Amendment right to freedom of speech and if moving the case forward implies any guilt.

Motion by Brad Mackey to further investigate the 900. Seconded by Gage Taylor.

Discussion continued with Tyler Sparks asking the attorney to provide information into whether there could potentially be a violation of the First Amendment if this is pursued.

Attorney Will Griffis stated he would research the topic. Call for a roll call vote by Jeff Gibbs to close the discussion. Yes – Brad Mackey, Tyler Sparks, Kim Veal, Elizabeth Westfall,

Sam Knott, Casey McClain, Gage Taylor, Lauren Green, Jeff Gibbs, Paige Gunderson,

Olivia Rush, Rosalinda Vizina; Motion Passes.

Chuck Fitzwater was invited back on the call. Mike Reis excused himself from the conversation on the next 900. Chuck Fitzwater took over, presiding over the meeting.

900 Discussion

Conversation on a second 900 filing to the board was applied under one number.

Discussion on duplication of information, the timing of the board receiving the information, and numbering of the 900. Concern over if a second 900 was skipped over, which had been filed.

Motion by Gage Taylor to refund one of the filing fees to the complainant since only one 900 number was issued. Seconded by Lauren Green. Voice Vote – Motion Passes;

Abstain – Jeff Gibbs.

Mike Reis returned to the chair of the meeting.

Elizabeth Westfall noted that Paige Gunderson will be taking over as the national show chair and stated she would be resigning as secretary of the board effective at the end of the meeting.

Nominations for the secretary were opened up by the President. Nomination for secretary was opened up. Chuck Fitzwater nominated Paige Gunderson. Paige Gunderson declined. Tyler Sparks nominated Gage Taylor. Elizabeth Westfall seconded. Gage Taylor accepted the nomination. Voice Vote: Unanimous, Motion Passes.

Mike Reis made a statement to the board about his position as president and resigned from his position as president of the board.

Chuck Fitzwater took over as chair of the meeting as Vice- President and declined the position of President. Elizabeth Westfall nominated Rosalinda Vizina. Seconded by Lauren

Green. Jeff Gibbs nominated Brad Mackey. Seconded by Gage Taylor. Both accepted the

nomination. Gage Taylor moves to close the nominations. Paige Gunderson seconds the

close of nominations.

• Brad Mackey – Brad Mackey, Kim Veal, Gage Taylor, Jeff Gibbs, Paige Gunderson

• Rosalinda Vizina – Chuck Fitzwater, Tyler Sparks, Elizabeth Westfall, Sam Knott,

Casey McClain, Lauren Green, Olivia Rush

Abstain: Rosalinda Vizina

New President of the ABGA is Rosalinda Vizina.

Chuck Fitzwater made a statement that he would be resigning as vice president

immediately.

Rosalinda Vizina opened up the floor for nominations of Vice-President. Chuck Fitzwater

nominated Lauren Green. Seconded by Mike Reis. Gage Taylor nominated Brad Mackey.

Both parties accepted the nominations.

• Brad Mackey – Jeff Gibbs, Kim Veal, Tyler Sparks, Olivia Rush, Gage Taylor, Paige

Gunderson, Brad Mackey

Lauren Green – Mike Reis, Lauren Green, Casey McClain, Sam Knott, Elizabeth

Westfall, Chuck Fitzwater

New Vice President of the ABGA is Brad Mackey.

Mike Reis resigned from his position on the board effective at the close of the meeting.

Chuck Fitzwater resigned from his position on the board effective at the close of the meeting.

Lauren Green resigned from her position on the board effective at the close of the meeting.

Casey McClain resigned from her position on the board effective at the close of the meeting.

Adjournment

Motion by Mike Reis makes the motion to adjourn. Seconded by Gage Taylor. Voice Vote: Unanimous; Motion Passes.